Two Law Centre nominees among 'Legal Aid Oscars' finalists

Thursday, May 19th 2022

Simone and Lisa

Simone McGlynn (L) and Lisa Haythorne (R)

Two Law Centre nominees were shortlisted for the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards, it was announced today (Thursday).

The LALYs are known as the 'legal aid Oscars' and celebrate the excellence and dedication of those working in publicly funded legal services. They are awarded annually by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group, and this year is their twentieth anniversary.

The two Law Centre finalists are:

Lisa Haythorne - Lisa is double-qualified as both a solicitor and a chartered legal executive. She has been practising for over 25 years, of which 15 years at Derbyshire Law Centre in Chesterfield. She is also currently the president of the Sheffield and District Law Society. Lisa is a finalist in the housing award category.

Simone McGlynn - Simone is Hammersmith and Fulham Law Centre's receptionist. An experienced legal receptionist, she has been with the Law Centre for 14 years. She is the first point of contact for all visitors, an important role especially at a time of increasing demand. Simone is nominated in the new 'legal aid support staffer' category.

Also shortlisted were two Law Centre trustees. Barrister Ciara Bartlam of Garden Court North Chambers, shortlisted for legal aid newcomer, is a trustee of Greater Manchester Law Centre. Barrister Dr Oliver Lewis of Doughty Street Chambers, shortlisted for legal aid barrister, is the chair of trustees of Bristol Law Centre.

Law Centres nominees have always been been recognised at the LALYs, as individuals and as whole practices. Two recent winners were among this year's judging panel: Siobhan Taylor-Ward of Vauxhall Law Centre (legal aid newcomer 2020) and Ursula O'Hare of Law Centre NI (regional legal aid firm/not-for-profit 2021).

Our warm congratulations go to Simone and Lisa (and Oliver and Ciara)! We look forward to celebrating their work and that of our fellow legal aid lawyers and support staff at the LALY awards ceremony in London on 12 July.