Four Law Centre nominations shortlisted for legal awards

Thursday, May 23rd 2019


The shortlist for the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards has been published, and nominations from Law Centres have been shortlisted in four categories. 

The LALYs are awarded by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group (LAPG) in recognition of excellence in publicly-funded work. Law Centres have a proud record of LALY wins and shortlistings, and this year is no exception. 

Shortlisted Law Centre nominations include:

  1. London's Southwark Law Centre is shortlisted for Best Practice/Not-for-Profit
  2. Derbyshire Law Centre's Lisa Haythorne is shortlisted in the Social and Welfare category
  3. North Kensington Law Centre's Alexandra-Maria (Alley) Eugenicos is shortlisted in the Criminal Defence category
  4. Helen Mowatt of the Public Interest Law Centre at Lambeth Law Centre is shortlisted in the Legal Aid Newcomer category

Nimrod Ben-Cnaan, head of policy and profile at the Law Centres Network, said: 

This is a particularly strong year for Law Centre shortlistings at the LALYs. It shows not only the excellence of these professionals but the resilience of their Law Centres. They have endured public funding cuts and an adverse policy climate but, led by their values, they focus on delivering great work in the service of their communities. It is wonderful to see them recognised for it! 

Winners will be announced by eminent jurist Baroness Helena Kennedy QC at an awards ceremony to be held in London on 10 July 2019. 

We are crossing our fingers for our nominees!